Norah Morris Memorial Scholarship

The North Carolina Community Foundation is pleased to announce the establishment of the Norah Morris Scholarship Fund. The Fund was established in 2006 in memory of Norah Morris by the North Carolina Hunter and Jumper Association to honor Norah and the Morris family's commitment to the NCHJA and to higher education. Norah tragically lost her life in a traffic accident in May 2005 while attending an NCHJA sanctioned horse show. She was the youngest of three daughters of Art and Cynthia Morris. Her older sisters, Meghan and Therice were active members in the NCHJA and the family was regularly seen at ringside providing support.
Criteria for applying for this scholarship are:
  • Applicants should be pursuing an undergraduate degree. This degree is not necessarily a horse studies or horse related degree.
  • Application for this scholarship is not limited to incoming freshmen.
  • Recipients of the Norah Morris Scholarship are encouraged to participate in IHSA program or to continue to horse show independently in USEF/NCHJA shows to stay actively involved in the sport.
  • The Norah Morris Scholarship will be awarded to an outstanding candidate who has demonstrated an ability to successfully balance academic goals with equestrian activities and community involvement.
  • Applicants/recipients are invited to apply or reapply on an annual basis.
  • Applicants should submit a letter of recommendation from their trainer, coach or other non family member who is familiar with their horse related activities.
The Norah Morris Memorial Scholarship Endowment, established in memory of Norah Morris and funded by the NCHJA, will award two $1,000 scholarships in 2019. The $1000 scholarships will be awarded to individuals who has participated in equestrian activities, entering college or continuing college education. The Scholarship application is due May 25, 2019, and is available online on the Scholarship Directory at

Click here to link to the Norah Morris Scholarship through the North Carolina Scholarship Foundation

2018 Norah Morris Memorial Scholarship

The NCHJA is pleased to award college scholarships to two deserving young people. The Norah Morris Memorial Scholarship was established in 2006, by the North Carolina Hunter Jumper Association, in memory of Norah Morris. The scholarship fund, managed by the North Carolina Community Foundation, was established to honor Norah and the Morris family's commitment to equestrian activities and to higher education. Remembering Norah Morris, we thank and congratulate all 12 of our 2018 Norah Morris Scholarship applicants. They are all deserving young people!! Congratulations to our 2018 Norah Morris Memorial Scholarship recipients, Taylor Carmody and Bethany Garrison. Both young ladies have maintained excellent academic records while being involved extensively in equestrian activities and the community.

Taylor Carmody of Raleigh, NC is the recipient of the $1000 Norah Morris Scholarship. Taylor is a graduate of Cardinal Gibbons High School with a 4.6 GPA. Taylor has ridden most of her life and has been involved in showing at 4H shows and competing as a Team Captain in the North Carolina Horse Bowl. She has a strong interest in horse care and has been involved in many volunteer activities in the community. Taylor is on her way to NC State University where she will study Animal Science.

Bethany Garrison is the recipient of the $600 Norah Morris Scholarship. Bethany is a rising senior in the Honors College at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, majoring in Psychology with minors in Medical Anthropology and Creative Writing. Bethany started riding at the age of seven with Amy Hazard. Bethany qualified for the ASPCA Regionals and the USEF Medal Finals her freshman year at Carolina. Bethany is currently balancing her college studies with riding with Juliana Zunde, working on the farm to offset the costs of boarding and riding on the UNC Equestrian Team.

Congratulations to Taylor Carmody and Bethany Garrison!!

Joan Petty
Norah Morris Scholarship Endowment

NCHJA Equine Scholarship Endowment

The endowment was established in 1999 to provide scholarships for students enrolled in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State University. Preference shall be given to a student from North Carolina pursuing a degree in veterinary medicine, specifically focused on equine medicine.

NCHJA Medal Finals Grants, NEW Additions for 2018

A $1000 Grant will be given annually to the winner of the E.J. Haun Memorial Medal Finals, the NCHJA Children's Medal Finals, the NCHJA Pony Medal Finals and the Bryan Jones Medal Finals. A $500 Grant will be given annually to the winner of the NCHJA "C" Adult, Children's and Pony Medal Finals Winner. This grant may be used towards equestrian improvement, academic advancement or a combination of both. The winners must submit their request for the funds to be transferred in writing within six (6) months of their win. All Checks will be made to the equestrian program or academic institution. No check will be made to the winner or any member of the family.

Click image to link to the Zone 3 Scholarship Opportunities

2018 NCHJA Medal Finals Grant Recipients:

Hope King - E.J. Haun Memorial Medal Finals

Ellison Beaver - NCHJA Children's Medal Finals

Ashleigh Colantuoni - NCHJA Pony Medal Finals

Erin Dombroski - Bryan Jones Medal Finals